Fork Oil Level?

Guest FifeDog

Guest FifeDog

My bike: 2003 VFR800.

I just bought the 46DR rear shock from Ohlins and the fork springs to match. When replacing the oil I am getting different opinions on what level to set the fork oil. One "expert" says 150mm and use 10w vs. Ohlins 100mm and use 10w (stock fork oil level).

What is correct?

Fork oil level is a tool for adjusting one aspect of the forks function of which I am No expert, but fork oil level only effects the last inch of fork travel. From what I understand in general is that lower levels are fine or desired(as long as there's enough to cover all needed pieces) and that higher levels of oil are used as anti bottoming tool if your springs aren't the proper weight. I think the less air in the fork(higher oil level) the stiffer this last and final bottoming movement(travel) of the fork. The remaining air in the forks act as a secondary spring in the latter movement of fork travel.

Don't know if that makes any sense, but I would run the lower level(Ohlins) and ride the bike. If you have any harsh bottoming in certain conditions it would be very easy to add another 10cc of oils to each leg until you got the desired effect. I would imagine that you would Not experience any problems on the street running the lower level especially after changing the springs to the recommended Rates.

Google fork oil level or suspension for a more knowledgeable answer. :rolleyes:

:thumbsup:

• Member Contributer

I agree with BR, except for one little thing to keep in mind. The measurements given are typically from the top of the fork tube down to the oil level, which is also why this is called the "air gap". So, a lower number is actually a higher level.

I definitely agree with the bottoming resistance aspect. Air is a compressible fluid, while oil is theoretically not. Less air = sless stuff that compresses.