Pit bull front stand question

swimmer

• Member Contributer

A guy is selling one of these front stands (lower triple clamp variety) on CL.  Says he used it on a "2007 or 2009"CBR600RR.

According to pit bull the stand will work but needs a different pin. I've never used one of these types of stands before.  Can I get by temporarily with using the incorrect pin if I can't find a pin locally before this weekend? The guy on CL seems pretty flakey so I'd like to limit my interaction with him.

• Member Contributer

Technically yes, but I had my Ducati pin in when I was helping member with his VFR and noticed the stand didn't stay in and was actually resting on the chin of the front fairing! If the pin is close enough in diameter it might not be an issue, however if its too big then of course it won't work. Sometimes one pin will work for several make/models, so look up which pin both bikes use and who knows, it might be the same pin. Good luck.

• Member Contributer

According to pit bull they said the VFR would require a different pin.  She told me the part # for that pin but I don't know the part# for the CBR pin so I don't know if the pin this guys has is smaller or bigger.  Anyway, seems like I should be able to make something work.  Just need sorted by Friday evening.

• Member Contributer
14 minutes ago, swimmer said:

According to pit bull they said the VFR would require a different pin.  She told me the part # for that pin but I don't know the part# for the CBR pin so I don't know if the pin this guys has is smaller or bigger.  Anyway, seems like I should be able to make something work.  Just need sorted by Friday evening.

Here's what the pdf shows...

PitBull Stand Pins.png

• Member Contributer
3 minutes ago, crakerjac said:

Subbed.  I've got a Pit Bull front stand with an SV650 pin and I cant justify spending $8 on shipping for a $13 product...