Boot Soles Worn Through Already

emoyer

• Member Contributer

I have a pair of Tourmaster Solution waterproof boots that I have worn for about 12,000 miles of riding, and both sides are already worn completely through on the ball of the foot. I believe this is from friction against the pegs as I grip with my knees and heels (obviously). And I have the OEM pegs with the rubber tops, not knurled aftermarket ones.

So two questions:

(1) Since the rest of the boots are still in very good shape I would rather not discard them, so I am wondering how best to patch the holes. I could try Shoe Goo, but I am thinking that will be soft and wear through again quickly. Or I could try to superglue a piece of thick leather on the place where the hole is. Thoughts?

(2) When it does become time to replace them, I am wondering what would be better. I looked at more expensive boots on motorcyclegear.com, but they seem to have the same kind of soles as what I have now. Then I thought maybe racing boots would have tougher soles, but I read something about them actually having thin soles for better feel. And the workboot-type riding boots look like the soles are thicker, but I dont know how waterproof they would be. Suggestions?

Thank you.

• Member Contributer

Personally, I'd talk to a local shoe repair shop.

A cobbler if you will.

Many times in the past those guys have saved me some coin, and many times repair to better than new. I don't know whether or not they can help with the waterproof thing, but they should be able to vulcanize something that should seal up well.

Good luck!

• Member Contributer

As far as repairing them find a cobbler. depending on how they are constructed he may either repair or even replace the sole. I have a good in the town where I live and he's really good and cheap. Just had my Dainese boots stretched in the toe area a little...4$!

Jess