Loud 'thwack' noise in exhaust after revving engine

Samxboy

Might be a strange question but I'm new to the VFR800, having acquired a 2016 crossrunner quite recently. Apart from really lousy low speed running the bike also makes a loud 'thwack' noise ( for want of a better description) in the exhaust muffler / collector box area after revving the engine in neutral. Never heard anything like it previously in any bike so it sounds uniquely weird to me. Thought I saw someone else raise this question before but can't find any trace. Anyone discovered what this is, assuming it's a common trait?  

• Member Contributer

I'm on my second Crossie and I've not heard of symptoms like that before. A video/audio would help. 

A Crossrunner in Florida? I didn't think they were sold in the US, what's the story please? 

5 hours ago, Skids said:

I'm on my second Crossie and I've not heard of symptoms like that before. A video/audio would help. 

A Crossrunner in Florida? I didn't think they were sold in the US, what's the story please? 

The bike is in the UK. I'm currently residing in the US. I did find the original post where this was mentioned ..... The link to the video didn't work for me but by the description it must be the same  thing. The general consensus was the PAIR system, working as it should....if that's so why aren't you guys hearing it, assuming your PAIR systems are still intact? There is however a broader issue I'm facing and this maybe connected??

My concern is that ever since owing the bike ( Aug 22) the slow speed running has been terrible. Took it back to the dealer and they finally did a starter valve balance. ( Bike is a 2016 model with 17k miles) This helped but every now and then it runs rough again as though 'something' is sticking? Is it the PAIR system working overtime?? Should I just block it off?