One year since that last time I synched the starter valves and cleaned the air filter (K&N), I have been noticing for a couple of months now that the motor doesn't idle so well, especially when starting her up (hot or cold). So I whipped out the carbtune and set about synchronizing the starter valves... and while I'm at it I removed the air filter to clean it and placed a (used and somewhat solied) OEM paper filter in while the K&N dries out.

u7ujyjem.jpg

At first there seemd to be a noticeable improvement. The motor started up and ran much smoother. Less hesitation and noticeble 200 rpm higher idle. Before it would stutter and idle very low. The day before it stalled on me three times in a row when I started her up.

Before
e9e9aqyg.jpg

After
vy8u5y6e.jpg

Filter
tehy8e9e.jpg

I should mention I decided to try the positioning of the air funnels according to the picture in the workshop manual.. or at least how it SEEMS in the picture: the short ones in positions front left and rear right and the long ones in the remaining spots. Previously I had them positioned according to how I found them out of the dealers: short up front and long up back.

UPDATE:

Took the bike for a spin. It seems the bike pulls from low rpms nice and smoothly. At first it idled well and sounded even better. I also tensioned the chain and the throttle cable. Nice!!

But when I was arriving back home, I noticed the exhaust popping (rhythmically) when stopped at the lights and the temperatura rising real quicksmart... not convinced I haven't left something badly connected... Air leak??

• Member Contributer

I noticed with a higher idle (about +200rpm) my bike significantly heated up faster at stop lights. Do the starter valves really need to be synced once a year? Maybe I don't know what I'm missing here, to expensive and time consuming.

Takes about an hour to do and doing it myself means no cost whatsoever. So I don't see the inconvenience.