Vtec Rear Shock Stuffed? Or Just Normal? Quick Question

vish

Hi

Just been tweaking my stock rear shock on my 06 and from what i have gathered the standard rebound setting is about 1 1/4 turns out from full hard. I went to adjust mine and it had only half a turn. I started playing with it as it was wallowing. I have increased the compression from the stock 2 clicks to 4 clicks. I am 100kgs. I know the stock shock sucks generally but have heard people similar to my weight can make do with the stock shock. Does this sound like normal behavior from the stock shock or does the valving sound worn or stuffed?

Cheers

Shane

• Member Contributer

It sounds backwards, but if you are wallowing, you are likely packing down the shock causing your geometry to be nose high. You need to turn it toward the "S" to allow the shock to rebound faster. Only give it 1/8 to 1/4 turn at a time and test it. As for preload, you will need at least 4 clicks to get in the ballpark for correct sag, maybe 5.

I think rebound is about 1 and 1/4 out from full hard, there is also indention DOTs at the standard settting. so Id start there at the dot where ever it ends up in that post 1 turn out from full hard. Assuming all the shocks are the same new, but the abs model offers alot more preload settings. The standard rebound setting is the same from my experience was way too quick , so from what ever your standard setting is, the best rebound is there or 1/4 turn in clockwise. Outside of that range will bring on issues, meaning 1/4 turn from stock is really the usuable range on rebound.

Contrary to what most here believe, With the stock shock, throw sag out the window or the stock shock will never be made to work, unless your just putting around..

But I'd not use your hardest preload setting, but the one just before as a base, assuming 180 to 200 lb.

• Member Contributer