Shock effected by a rear end collision?

roma258

Last weekend my VFR got rear ended by another bike a stop sign. I managed to keep the bike up and the givi racks absorbed most of the impact, so the damage was minimal. Yesterday was my first time out since the collision and the bike felt terrible through the turn. It wallowed, it dropped into the turns suddenly, it felt like I was losing traction on several occasions. Just brutal. I'm not a suspension expert, but it felt like there was no rebound damping there at all. Can that possibly be the result of the collision?

Yes. Also check the tire while you are at it. I hope you got the other rider's insurance information.

Yeah, my first thought was the tire was flat. Nope, air pressure is right around 40 psi.

The other rider was my younger brother. He was riding behind me on a twisty road that had a stop sign obscured by a bush. He didn't see it and by the time he realized I'd stopped, it was too late. It happens. So is my shock farked, or is a simple dampening adjustment going to be a quick fix? I tried making suspension adjustment in the past, but had a tough time getting the spanned wrench to hook up to the dials.

• Member Contributer

The dampening adjustment on the 6th gens is a standard screw on the bottom of the shock. The piece that you are referring to is used to adjust preload. But depending on the speed at which the little bro hit you, I wouldn't think that the shock would be damaged. Hope this helps.

The dampening adjustment on the 6th gens is a standard screw on the bottom of the shock. The piece that you are referring to is used to adjust preload. But depending on the speed at which the little bro hit you, I wouldn't think that the shock would be damaged. Hope this helps.