Putting The Shine Back On That Aluminum

vanion2

• Member Contributer

Well, I asked for some help in restoring the Aluminum in this thread and got some good advice (as usual).

After doing some extensive research I decided I was going to try 2 different approaches.

1. Wheel buffing with various compounds

2. Sanding and then wheel buffing

Why 2 different approaches? Because I am an engineer and I just have to know which works best by doing it myself.

So this is what i was looking at on a beautiful Sunday morning :fing02:

gallery_9864_2412_284921.jpg

Dirty Rear right.JPG

The first thing to do was wash the wheels with fine steel wool to get them as clean as possible

gallery_9864_2412_540741.jpg

wool and wash.JPG

For the spoke side of the rear wheel I decided to try the buffing wheel only method. Here are the tools I used:

gallery_9864_2412_488704.jpg

drill and kit.JPG

Note: the drill should have a minimum of 2500 rpm capability or you are going to spend a really really really long time trying to polish (mine does and I still spent a long time polishing). If you do the research from the link Seb gave me you will note that I technically should have been using an 8" wheel set to get the ideal speeds but I was experimenting and decided to start on the cheap side as mine where at most 4". Also, removing the wheels from the bike will significantly improve ease of this project but again I was doing it the hard way first. You learn more from your mistakes then anything else. :cool: