Starts Great And Idels But Dies With A Hint Of Throtle

Guest Wes750

Guest Wes750

Hi one and all VFR fans. First off I am new to this sight and so far I think its great - I've spent half a day looking at these fantastick bikes!

I just bouht the sweetest ride I have ever sat on, 93 VFR 750! I didn't sleep last night because I couldn't calm down.

Anyway, It is a Salvage bike, it got hit while parked in a lot, and drug for about 15 ft before the lady noticed something was wrong. Any way , the fairings are all beat up but other than that nuthing looks bad at all. This was Oct 07.

I just bought the bike yesterday, the gas has been sitting for 8 or 9 months now so I'm going to get rid of it naturaly, and I need new plugs too ( any recomendations would be great). But here is the problem I'm looking to fix for now:

Strats right up- no problem, Idels fine at 1000, but if you look at the throtle it dies. And it sounds like a kill switch, no sputtering, or anything like that- just like you hit the kill switch?

Thanks in advance for any help, I'll get some picts up as soon as I can. And does anyone have any fair condition fairings they can part with, mainly left front.

Welcome Wes!

The Pearl White 93 is a sweet bike for sure! :huh:

I would guess that the carb jets are probably dirty/clogged from sitting so long and need cleaned. I think this bike has a fuel pump, but should still run w/o it running I think. Have you checked for blown fuses or broken wires from the crash damage?

That's all I can think of at the moment. :blush:

Welcome Wes!

The Pearl White 93 is a sweet bike for sure! :fing02:

I would guess that the carb jets are probably dirty/clogged from sitting so long and need cleaned. I think this bike has a fuel pump, but should still run w/o it running I think. Have you checked for blown fuses or broken wires from the crash damage?

That's all I can think of at the moment. :biggrin: