No Turn Signals & Now The Dash Light No Work Video Inside

Tews19

Yesterday I started by changing the oil on my 99 VFR. I changed out the sprockets and the chain. Now the bike is back together and the turn signals do not work. The dash only lights on when I first start the bike and then it turns off. The dash lights that is. I made a video of what is going on.

I checked all fuses and they are in working order. I am new to modern bikes and the 70's Honda's I am accustomed to have demons but not any that have stumped me like this.

Please watch the video and any insight would be great.

If I had to guess, I'd say you reconnected the turn signals improperly (assuming you had the fairings off, anyway) otherwise, I'd say pinched wire somewhere.

Dunno about VFRs, but on my R1 the turn signal connectors are a triangular connector that can be hooked up the wrong way, which caused my signals to not work when I changed my oil recently.

• Member Contributer

Hard to say from watching that. Grounds (Earths) are an often overlooked source of problems. If a circuit's ground is bad, after reaching each component, the electricity cannot return to the battery normally so it starts looking for other ways back which can cause all sorts of weird problems. In addition to grounds, maybe separate the connectors in the harness and check for any corrosion, loose wires, etc. I treat mine with Ox-gard which can be had at most hardware stores or on Amazon.

Zombie thanks for the feedback. I did not disconnect the turn signals but I went over and double checked them. They are all good to go.

Cogs- Thanks for constantly helping me out. I really appreciate it. I was doing more research as it seems electrical demons and ANY Honda seem meet paths at one time or another. I made another video which may help me figure this out.