Replace Headlight Bulbs

ZesPak

So, two years in with my VFR1200F and I still love it.

Put about 42k km's (26k miles) on it so far and still feels like new.

I've got some technical knowledge but I have most of my maintenance done by a local here who does nothing else. But, I'd like to be able to replace my own headlight bulb :D.

So, last week I tried to do this but I failed miserably. From my perspective, looking in front of the steering column, you can see two "twist to close" little hatches that hide the high beam (lowest hatch) and main light (top hatch). I managed to unscrew the lowest one, and then even replace the bulb (but only just!).

The top one, from my perspective, seems like I'll need to break my hand & arm in about 3 places to be able to do.

I've found no real topic on HOW to do this, is there a trick I'm missing out on? It seems impossible to me! Or is it a case of removing half of the front of the bike to be able to do it?

For the record: I'm not trying to install some sort of HID kit, just your regular H7 bulb...

Thanks in advance for your vast & collective knowledge!

• Member Contributer

It can be done (without removing the front end) but took me a few tries since you can't really see what you're doing. I put my hand up from the bottom. Ensure you get the clip off first before removing the bulb plug and then put the clip on before putting the plug back on the bulb. Good luck...

Thanks, good to know it CAN be done, it felt like there wouldn't be enough clearance to even remove the bulb.

I'll have my wife give it a go, maybe her more slender hands/fingers will be able to do it :).

It is not that hard. In fact you can see what you are doing, at least when you are installing the new bulb by looking through the headlight.