Power Commander And Ubuntu

Guest Action

Guest Action

Has anyone gotten the Power Commander software to work using Ubuntu? The program will work under Wine but it will not see the pciii through the USB connection. You can see if you run dmesg, but not anywhere else. I did load a map using my windows desk top computer so I know everything works but I'd really like to get working through my laptop which has Ubuntu. I'm a complete noob with Ubuntu/lLinux so any help would be welcome.

Action

You can see if you run dmesg, but not anywhere else.

What do you see when running dmesg? I do not have a PowerCommander so I have no idea how you upload maps using a windows machine. Does it act like a removable drive?

• Member Contributer

What do you see when running dmesg? I do not have a PowerCommander so I have no idea how you upload maps using a windows machine. Does it act like a removable drive?

I never used WINE much, but perhaps you need to tell wine the address of the USB port? If you post the output of dmesg that would help too

I never used WINE much, but perhaps you need to tell wine the address of the USB port? If you post the output of dmesg that would help too

After some research this weekend, it seems that my choices are either dual boot with Windows, run windows off a thumb drive, or just reformat to windows. The problem is trying to get a program running in Wine to see the USB port. The power commander does not show up like a separate drive that you could just mount. If the power commander software ran in Linux it would be doable but everyone I've talked to does not see any way to get it to work. So, I think I'm going to just reformat my laptop to Windows XP. Thanks again for everyone’s input.

Action

• Member Contributer