Few Tire Questions

afennell

I am still running my VFR on the original tires. I have been thinking about when to replace the first set. I am planning to ride up to Thunder Bay and back in late may. I was planning to do my first tire change after that trip, but it after reading the tire threads I think I might need to do my first tire change before then. After spending an extra $1,000 for ABS it seems counter productive cheap out on tire changes. I think I am going to go with the Michelin Pilot Powers.

What kind of mileage can I expect from the orginal Dunlop tires?

Is it best to change the tires as a set, or is it okay to replace front and rear independantly?

What exactly is cupping?

What is the typical mileage for Michelin PP?

• Member Contributer

Hello!

I am no expert but here goes!

I think I am going to go with the Michelin Pilot Powers.

Why go with a Sport tire instead of a Sport Touring tire? Are you really riding to the edge of your bike most of the time? Sport tires tend to melt quicker than ST tires... But hey, some people want all the traction they can get, its your call in the end.

Very low. I got around 6000km on mines
Is it best to change the tires as a set, or is it okay to replace front and rear independantly?

For optimal change, you should change the tire as a set. In reality we don't do it, its waaaay to expensive. You can change tires independantly. Just be carefull when you are mixing and matching tire make or model. Engineers have profiled them to work best together.

What exactly is cupping?
Its tire degradation... Mostly happens to the front tire. The cupping I have seen deforms the sides of your tire and makes it useless even tough most of the tire is still usable. I'll try to find a pic to post.

No clue, I stick to Sport Touring tires.

Boy, these are wide open questions.

Mileage on any tire will very from 500-1000% depending on who's riding it, seeing from 2000 to 10,000 from the same tire! :blink: