Replacing wheel bearings/where to buy wheel bearings

Guest smithe2

Guest smithe2

So I ran over a screw a week or so ago and am just now pulling the wheels to get get new tires put on, I figure I will replace the front wheel bearings while I'm at it, as I know they're stock and they feel a little bumpy when I spin them with my finger. I did a little research on here and only found some discussion concerning the manufacturers of bearing (Chinese, German, Etc.). So to make this easy on myself I have two questions. 1. Where can I find the best wheel bearings to use? and 2. How do I replace them? I'd rather not be gouged by the local shop, and from what I understand from reading around its not too difficult. The service manual doesn't address it, do I just remove the brake discs and seals, then pop the new ones in? I'm still a bit of a novice here.

Thanks,

E

• Member Contributer

I think OEM bearings are the best option and that is all I will use. Getting them out can be a little challenging since you'll have to push the spacer tube on the inside of the wheel to the side to expose the inner race so you can strike it from the opposite side using a punch tool. I eventually got tired of banging my hand with a hammer and finally broke down and bought a bearing pulling tool from Harbor Freight for about $35 with coupon. It makes the job much easier and safer. Getting the new bearings in can be made easier if you put them in the freezer for a few hours prior to installing and then heating up the wheel hub with a torch to expand the metal a bit. Also remember you should never re-install old bearings since the removal process usually damages them. When reinstalling the new bearings remember to use plenty of grease to help the bearing slide in and only apply force to the outer race of the bearing, never strike the inner race when reinstalling or you risk damaging the new bearing. YouTube should have plenty of videos if you are confused by anything I've said.

Rollin