Shoei X-12 on VFR 6th gen rider

mikeodial

Just got my new Shoei X-12 helmet today, put in the breadth guard and went for a ride. By way of explaination, I have been using a Shoei X-11 for the past 5 years and loved it, but it was time for an update.

Many of the professional reviews have been lukewarm on the x-12 versus the x-11. Comments like it doesn't cool as well, noisier and different fit have all been made by web bike world and a lot a more.

My first impressions are:

Looks great. I purchased a white solid color and look like something from Star Wars. I think I was getting some more respect because of the color, or perhaps I was just dreaming, anyway I like this high vis color, as I have been wearing black and gray for my whole riding career.

Visibility. If I had not experienced this myself, I would not have believed it. It's like I have been riding for years with a letter box movie screen on small screen. Well Shoei has outdone themselves, I feel like I am wearing an open face helmet from a visibility perspective. Truly wonderful! Also head checks don't risk a visit to the chiropractor as happens on the x-11 when you have to turn to see what's on that incoming lane you planning to merge into.

The noise thing Well the jury is out as I only did a short 1.5 hour ride on New England back roads with a little freeway experience. Without the lock on the helmet, someone started whistling every time I turned my head, and it wasn't me! Hummmm... I closed the lock and that seems to solve the problem. Didn't try this with the vents closed (86 degrees mid afternoon New England), the whistling started at around 30 but was consistent till getting to around 50.