How To Find The Best Helmet Fit

Tightwad

Ok, I have been riding for 16 years now, and I have always been limited in choice of helmet to what I could afford...just as I have been limited in choice of bike. I ride for utilitarian purposes, as well as for pleasure. Nothing has changed in that regard...I buy DOT approved helmets from brands that are common, but I have never spent over $125 for a helmet....

The question i have is....How do I know what my head shape is? Besides huge I mean, as I typically wear an XL helmet (7 5/8 hat size). I think my current HJC helmet is not the right shape...I find I see a lot of my chin bar, and my chin is below the bottom of the helmet a bit. If I had unlimited spending cash (I don't) what models would I look at for what head shape?

Big Head

High Forehead

Eyes slightly above nose, hair getting farther away

Face even my Mother cringes at

Ok, I have been riding for 16 years now, and I have always been limited in choice of helmet to what I could afford...just as I have been limited in choice of bike. I ride for utilitarian purposes, as well as for pleasure. Nothing has changed in that regard...I buy DOT approved helmets from brands that are common, but I have never spent over $125 for a helmet....

The question i have is....How do I know what my head shape is? Besides huge I mean, as I typically wear an XL helmet (7 5/8 hat size). I think my current HJC helmet is not the right shape...I find I see a lot of my chin bar, and my chin is below the bottom of the helmet a bit. If I had unlimited spending cash (I don't) what models would I look at for what head shape?

Big Head

High Forehead

Eyes slightly above nose, hair getting farther away

Face even my Mother cringes at