New Shock

Guest rentwaytv

Question

Guest rentwaytv

I was looking for an aftermarket shock for my 83 vf because I'm a big guy and the stock spring and shock aren't cutting it. Works Performance will sell me a custom setup for $749. I've heard of Works Performance for years, but I have no personal experience with them, and know of no testimonials...Anybody out there a customer? Thanks, George.

19 answers to this question

Member Chev bought one and used it on his 700, he liked it a lot from what I remember. When his motor blew(not too long after installation), I bought it from him for my project. I hope to find out how it rides this summer!

It looks like a very well made piece, with remote reservoir and rebound and compression damping.

Sorry I don't have a better pic at the moment, but could take more if you want. Chev may have some better pics of it too.

2-6-08011.jpg

• Member Contributer
I was looking for an aftermarket shock for my 83 vf because I'm a big guy and the stock spring and shock aren't cutting it. Works Performance will sell me a custom setup for $749. I've heard of Works Performance for years, but I have no personal experience with them, and know of no testimonials...Anybody out there a customer? Thanks, George.

Hello:

My bike is an '89 VFR750FK (RC24). I replaced the shock with a Works Performance shock over two years ago. It is their Dura Sport model (with a remote reservoir). Go to my album / gallery and you can get a look at the reservoir, at least. I did not do the installation. My beloved mechanic, MammothMotorSports in Rohnert Park, CA (North of San Francisco by about an hour) did the suspension work.

I had the front end done at the same time (Race Tech - the gold valve kit, and new, heavier springs). The bike was absolutely transformed. Because I had the front end modified and the rear shock replaced at the same time, I can't say - can't compartmentalize - the improvement achieved by the Works shock, alone.