Help me find a quiet helmet

Guest ratfink

Guest ratfink

I have had several helmets over the years, and have improved the wind noise on every new purchase a little at a time. The problem is, you can't ride at 85 MPH when test fitting at the store. Tell me what manufacturer and model is the quietest for you. I use a radio, and would like to reduce the wind noise through the mic for both me and my wife. We already have a quiet rider, which helps allot, but is no substitute for a good helmet.

• Replies 61
  • Created
  • Last Reply
Guest VFR_FLA

This has been discused a lot. It's about issues with the windscreen and the helmet.

If you get responses then it based on different people with different heights and different screens at different speeds. I am a safety professional I have a noise meter we should do a real no BS test.

This has been discused a lot. It's about issues with the windscreen and the helmet.

If you get responses then it based on different people with different heights and different screens at different speeds. I am a safety professional I have a noise meter we should do a real no BS test.

I am 5'8" with a 30" inseam, and get allot if wind at 75+ but little at slower then that. I was just looking for a well insulated and put together helmet. I hate to spend more then a couple hundred bux when your suppose to replaced your helmet every two to four years anyway.

At 85 MPH wind noise in any helmet will be high, some higher than others but either way damaging to your ear. I suggest using ear plugs, many riders use them and I find they really improve your ride.

Guest VFR_FLA