05 VFR - Mechanical idiot in need of help

gates

• Member Contributer

Disclaimer:  I am not a mechanic and have little aptitude for motors or dismantling motorcycles.

Problem:  My motorcycle ran fine earlier this season but now won’t start.

Motorcycle:  2005 VFR800A, had a full service performed in late 2022.  No prior issues.

Background:  My motorcycle has been running great for the past 18 years until a few weeks ago, although I haven’t ridden it much in the last 5 years (maybe 200 miles a year).  I had a full service (spark plugs, fluids replaced, new chain, new tires, etc) at the end of last season.  I started it and ran to the grocery store a few times this year.  Here is what I’ve done, noticed, and tried thus far:

1.    I noticed that the battery wasn’t holding a charge.  I could keep it on the battery tender and it would start consistently, but a few days off the battery charger and it wouldn’t turn over.
2.    I got a new battery and replaced it.  Now it will turn over but not start.  I put back the old battery and charged it, same deal.  I tried a jump pack, same deal.  I don’t think it’s the battery.
3.    All the lights come on and look “normal,” from what I remember.
4.    Had a friend come over, he said the starter sounded fine, he thought maybe it could be old/ bad fuel.
5.    Drained the fuel out of the tank and put in a gallon of new fuel.  Same issue.
6.    Tried to eliminate kill switches (main and kickstand/ neutral).  The main kill switch off doesn’t turn try turning over.  The main switch is on, in gear, kickstand down, and doesn’t try turning over.  The main switch is on, in neutral, kickstand down, starter tries starting.  The main switch is on, in neutral, kickstand up, starter tries starting.
7.    Removed side plastics (PIA) and checked fuses on both left and right fuse boxes – they all look good.