Newbie With Questions

travec1

I'm a newbie in every sense of the word with a lot of questions. With that being said, if this isn't the correct forum I apologize in advance. First off, like I said I am NEW - I don't even have my license yet and am looking for good programs in my local area. It seems that as Fall/Winter approach the offerings become few and far between.

So here is my question....my friends who have been riding for decades suggested that I look into getting a 2000-early 2002 VFR 800 because it could be a solid entry-level with room to grow. However, one thing a friend mentioned is that the earlier VTEC motors weren't as good as the prior model. Can someone explain that to me? It seems to me that having that technology would be a benefit especially since those models appear to come with ABS braking.

Again, I am new but I am trying to make use of my time while I am waiting for the classes to open up.

Thanks in advance!

• Member Contributer

The motors in >>>ALL<<< VFRs are just fine unless just completely abused by an owner. The only "problem" with some of the earlier VTECHs is that some riders felt like the VTECH transition came on too soon and too abruptly. Honda bumped the transition RPMs a little higher in later models to accommodate those complaints. None of them are faulty or unreliable and it wasn't a motor issue as much as a power band vs VTECH issue.

I've had a 1st gen '85, a 4th gen '97, and now a 6th gen '07 and there hasn't been any inherent problems with any of them. Aside from regular maintenance items, the only thing that ever got replaced was the R/R (regulator/rectifier) on my '97 about two years after I bought it. That cost me about $120 and was a simple plug-n-play item that took under ten minutes to complete.

As far as riding for decades, this was my 30th year on a motorcycle - WHOOP WHOOP!

• Member Contributer