Clutch Fluid Level Dropping Slowly, But No Leaks - What's Up?

Subject is a 2001 VFR800 w/32k miles. Daily commute of 39 miles.

Over the last several months, I've noticed the fluid level in my clutch master cylinder slowly dropping. It's still above minimum, so the "leak" is quite slow. Simultaneously, I've been having to let the lever farther and farther out to engage the clutch, so the friction zone is getting pretty small, resulting in some lurchy starts on hills. It's not slipping, but I thought I'd check it out while I'm doing the 32k maintenance.

I pull the clutch basket, and everything looks basically new to me. The friction plates are about .118" (.100" is minimum, standard is .115"-.121"). The disks look practically new. The springs are all within spec as well, so I'm not sure what to replace. The only thing I noticed is that many of the inner plates are almost completely dry, something I wouldn't expect from a "wet" clutch. But I've never done a motorcycle clutch before, so this may be normal.

There are no leaks from the master cylinder.

I pull the slave cylinder and don't see any drops of brake fluid there, either. Just some oily condensation in the cavity it resides in. I push in the slave cylinder and the master cylinder pops right back up to full.

I'm only guessing at this point, but my thought is that the fluid is simply going down to the slave cylinder and the slave cylinder is continually extending because, for some reason, the rod is going farther than normal when the clutch is used, which may or may not be related to the now-small friction zone.

Anything else I can check or do while it's all apart? I can't find anything that needs replacing, so I'm not sure what I can do to fix it.

post-6278-0-52595100-1432704141.jpg

post-6278-0-45865700-1432704151.jpg

post-6278-0-82688300-1432704168.jpg

post-6278-0-63350200-1432704177.jpg

post-6278-0-72612300-1432704190.jpg