Current Klr Rider, Thinking Of A Vfr

Guest mava

I posted elsewhere on the forum and it was recommended that I make an intro post here, so here we are. I've been riding for several years in Central VA and I'm looking for something new to replace my KLR, assuming I can sell it. I've got my eye on an '03 VFR 800 that looks to be in good shape in all ways. Anything in particular to look for with the model/year?

Looks like a good forum you have.

I currently have a 06 VFR that I really enjoy. I would think it would be a big change going from the KLR to the VFR but as long as you don't mind sticking to the street, you should really enjoy it.

The 6th gen bikes seem to be a love or hate them kind of thing. People either love or hate the VTEC transition and it seems to differ from bike to bike in certain cases both from what I have read and ridden. The VTEC hit does not bother me at all but at the same time I would not mind if it did not have that hit at all. Most of the time I think it is fun. I like how the bike does so well everywhere else for the way that I use it that even if I hated the hit, I would probably ride it anyway. One thing it does very will at for me is riding a passenger.

I had a 97 back in 98 and I loved that one too. It was great and I always wanted another one, now I have the 06 bike that I have been riding for almost a year. I have worked on a few things to make it a little more comfortable and once that stuff is completed, I do believe I will ride this bike for a while, which is rare for me to keep one for more than year.