6Th Gen- Where Is The Right-Side Proportional Control Valve?

FM1

• Member Contributer

I am trying bleed brakes on my 6th gen today and installing speed bleeders. I am not able to find Right-side (Rear) Proportional Control valve (Opposite battery side). Any ideas or am I just going blind?

This is my first time doing this on 6th gen and I purchased the bike used. Thanks in advance.

post-26649-0-16977500-1393697088.jpg

post-26649-0-90543900-1393697099.jpg

• Member Contributer

It's on the left side just in front of the battery. At least on my '09 it is.

post-23057-0-14766900-1393699429.jpg

• Member Contributer

I cant find the opp battery side. Apperently there are 2 if im not mistaken.

Sent from my SPH-L710 using Tapatalk

• Member Contributer

I cant find the opp battery side. Apperently there are 2 if im not mistaken.

I think the info is incorrect, I could not find a second bleeder on my 6 Gen either. I replaced my lines last year and went through this same drill, never found a second bleed point. There is the PCV as you have photographed it, but no bleeder.

• Member Contributer

Thanks man....this confirms that Im not blind.

• Member Contributer

How did you bleed the battery side pcv with speed bleeders? Did you just open the speed bleed screw and pumped the pedal or did it the manual way?

• Member Contributer

Yes, with speed bleeder installed but kind of did it old fashion way as well, meaning I didn't loosen the bleeder until I held the rear brake pedal down, opened the bleeder and then triggered the front secondary master cylinder. Released the secondary master cylinder and rear brake pedal closed the speed bleeder and repeated process. Note that this order works as the speed bleeder prevents air from returning through the bleeder. However, if you use a traditional bleeder, you will need to close the bleeder first then release secondary MC and rear brake pedal, this is pretty close to impossible without a helper.

• Member Contributer