how to take off rear headers?confussed.com

Guest stevekingchef

Guest stevekingchef

Hi guys

I'll start by saying sorry but I cant work out how to get to the rear headers to umbolt the exhaust stud.

Am I being insane?I've never owned a v4 and im a chef so have little idea but trying to learn.

All the best

Steve

Its a PITA

You need to take the RHS foot peg off and one of the bolts has a free spinning nut on on the back.

That nut is the problem :pissed: , I cant even remember what I used to grip it, I think I might have been forced to use pliers.

Once thats done, take the heat shield off, also a tight fit.

And use a ratchet, extension bars and a knuckel to undo the nuts holding the header to the head.

Im new to the world of motorbikes (and engines in general) so this was an eye opener as to how tight and fiddley working on them can be.

Good luck mate :fing02:

Im new to the world of motorbikes (and engines in general) so this was an eye opener as to how tight and fiddley working on them can be.

The VFR has a deserved reputation for being difficult to work on, space-wise, requiring "watchmaker" hands. Most bikes aren't this bad.

• Member Contributer

Its a PITA

You need to take the RHS foot peg off and one of the bolts has a free spinning nut on on the back.

I didn't have to take the foot peg off. The heat shield will unbolt and wiggle out. But I am pretty good at getting my hands into tight places.

• Member Contributer

getting them off is definitely a pain in the butt. what worked for me -

-move footpeg bracket out of the way

-1/4 drive socket+long extension bar+universal joint type adaptor+socket

got 3 of them from the right side and the 4th from the left. When you reinstall (maybe even more of a pain) put some anti-seize on the threads so they won't, you know, seize

jim

Hi guys

I'll start by saying sorry but I cant work out how to get to the rear headers to umbolt the exhaust stud.