Headlights,start Button, Cause Bike To Fail!..

Guest TonyVFR800

Guest TonyVFR800

OK Ive got an 05 vfr800, When i start the bike, if i let go of the start button the bike dies, but if i continue to hold it the starter continuses to crank, until i put the bike into gear and drive off, only problem is ive got to hold the start button or it will die mid ride.. This is no good!.. and btw my headlights wont come on at all... im brand new to having a motorcycle, and bought it used with these problems, so ive got a project on my hands.. Please help me with anything anyone can give me.. thanks guys!..

Hi and welcome to VFRD, sorry that your starting out with issues on such a great bike! :rolleyes:

Sounds like a bad ground wire or starter switch issue. I'm a little foggy at the moment but will try to help out.

There is a wire harness Recall for the 02-05 VFR that Honda will replace once for free, let me look for the link for you.

Also check "Vtec electrical issues" threads in our help section.

Here's the blue ground wire fix thread

http://www.vfrdiscussion.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=34394

Just click on the 6th Gen VFR section and most related topics are there Tony. :biggrin:

hmmm.. ok.. what is the blue connector ground fix supposed to do for me?? Please excusse me, im new to all this. The right handle switch was recently replaced thinking that it would fix the problem with having to hold down the start button, unfortunetly it didnt, it did temporayily but eventually had the same prob. According to Honda, the recall issue was performed on this bike, but the previous owner said that after it was done thats when the problems happened. IM wondering if the front wire harness needs to be replaced, as well as the left handle control switch too, Anyone know???..

• Member Contributer