New to GPS

Guest montero1

Guest montero1

I was looking at the 06 Goldwing with GPS. It has the function where you key in the destination address, and it leads you there. You can do it by street# or zip code. Are all GPS units like this?

Almost every GPS unit does this.... not all but almost all.... I have a Garmin GPS V, and a Streetpilot III that all you need to do is input the address and the GPS unit will route you to the destination in either a fast route or a shorter route whatever is your particular preference...

Hope this helps

Keith

Guest montero1
Almost every GPS unit does this.... not all but almost all.... I have a Garmin GPS V, and a Streetpilot III that all you need to do is input the address and the GPS unit will route you to the destination in either a fast route or a shorter route whatever is your particular preference...

Hope this helps

Keith

Sorry if it was a stupid question, but I've never used one before. What about the Tom Tom Rider, anyone used one? What would a Garmin have that the Tom Tom doesn't?

• Member Contributer
I was looking at the 06 Goldwing with GPS. It has the function where you key in the destination address, and it leads you there. You can do it by street# or zip code. Are all GPS units like this?

Not all but many are.

Sometimes, they will even take you on an interesting ride on a ferry if you tell them 'shortest' route.

It is kinda like a talking map that can think.

Just be careful when you start pushing the buttons. It is easy to get distracted.

Guest montero1
Not all but many are.

Sometimes, they will even take you on an interesting ride on a ferry if you tell them 'shortest' route.

It is kinda like a talking map that can think.

Just be careful when you start pushing the buttons.  It is easy to get distracted.

I'll probably have to go and see some to chose the one I like best-I'll want a cordless one, so

I can use it in my cages also. Do they make generic mounting kits, or are they sold per model?