Painting wheels silver

Jelorian

• Member Contributer

So I've decided that the only mod that I want to do on my 5th gen is the paint the wheels silver to match the frame.   I plan on taking the wheels off, cleaning them, wet sanding them, masking the tires and bearings and then use spray paint in a can that is specific for wheels.   I know that some of you guys have done this as I've seen pics and it is what inspired me to do the same.

I'm just wondering which paint you used and how close of a match was it to the frame?  There seems to be a lot of shades of silver out there in spray paint.

Thanks!

• Member Contributer

I used Colorite base / clear in spray cans.  It's not up to a urethane paint's durability,  but I'm in my 4th year with it and it's held up with only a few rock  chips.  It's definitely better than home center paint and I thought it was better than any  Duplicolor paint I've used.  

edit - Just remembered that I used Eastwood's Argent Silver wheel paint to do the wheel covers on my Camry.  It's held up fine,  but it has a lot of orange peel.  That could have been operator error, not sure. 

• Member Contributer

I do a lot of tire installs for myself and friends, not as a business but because where I live there are not really many options for installs, and if you are not on a HD you are not welcome anyway. So I paint my wheel weights to try and match the rim.

Just painted these last night for a buddies VFR, his rims are kinda steel/silverish. He spooned his own rubber on, we'll just balance in my garage. The color is called steel, Just a note,  the cap color is quite a bit darker then the actual color if its not obvious in the pic. Hopefully the second pic shows somewhat of the actual color.

I have painted my own rims with Rust-oleum's White and Black appliance epoxy with good results. They also offer a stainless steel option, which I have not tried, but may be a better match for all I know.

Hope this is of some help.

DSCF3442.JPG