Soldering on the aluminum frame

Mak0

Hello VFRD,

I am the proud owner of a 8th gen VFR 800 from 2014. I am not experienced in doing maintenance work beyond changing oil, brake pads and brake fluids. Changing the air filter didn't seem like a complicated process according to the maintenance manual, but a stuck bolt made it a bit more complicated than expected.

I didn't manage to cleanly remove this stuck bolt attaching the side covers to the frame (maintenance manual, page 2-4). I followed instructions I found on various websites and youtube videos using first a torx key, and later on a bolt extractor. As the situation was getting worse, a friend of mine jumped in to help as I was not getting anywhere, and he eventually broke the little piece of the frame containing the threaded hole in which the stuck bolt ([1] below) was screwed into.

image.png.109009da7563546c0805e519288451d8.png

This part is not critical for the bike, but I would like to fix it to keep the side cover secured by 2 bolts instead of 1.

I went to a soldering shop not specialized in automotive repairs to ask if they could fix it. 2 main concerns were raised:

• The people I talked to were concerned by the proximity of the gas tank and would be more comfortable having it removed from the bike before doing the repair
  • There is a hose a few cm behind the now missing piece, which I believe is connected to the coolant. To protect it, the mechanics proposed to put one of their insulating gloves just behind the aluminum piece to reattach.

If the soldering poses significant risks to the rest of the motorcycle (and the people doing the job!), I would rather leave things as they are.

1. Is there a better approach to solve this ordeal?
  2. Is it recommended to remove the tank for this repair? Wouldn't removing the tank expose more fumes?
  3. If the tank doesn't need to be removed, would it be better to have it as empty as possible, or full (less fumes)?

Thanks a lot for your help and guidance.