White smoke, oil smell and losing power when on open Road :-(

masterkush

Hi guys ....
My VTEC is sick.
I don't seem to have used much oil or much if any water but my bike is well sick. After a 5 min run at 90mph it feels like a ghost is turnning my throttle off and then it stalled at the lights.
What should I look for?
(VTEC with 42k miles on the clock otherwise in excellent condition and mostly serviced on time.)

• Member Contributer

Suspect you may have one or more injectors not properly shutting off. You may need to have them professionally cleaned, flow balanced and checked.

Might also be an issue with the Fuel Pressure Regulator - ruptured diaphragm.

Hi Grum,
The local bike shop will charge me $115 US to do a diagnostic and are two weeks waiting time already.
Where could I start with the diagnostics?
I'm a reasonably incompetent mechanic on 80's bike but the VTEC is s bit intimidating.
Where could I start?
Any links?
Thanks,
Mark

• Member Contributer

Hi Mark

Fi diagnostics won't tell you if the Fuel Pressure Reg is ruptured or an injector that is not closing properly.

Is you Fi light On or indicating a flashing code?

If you are not confident about working on the bike, I can only suggest you source a reputable motorcycle mechanic near you to go over the bike.

You can download the service manual from this site (Home Page - downloads)

Just had another thought - has your bike been stored away for a while over winter, could you have bad fuel or water condensation in the tank?

Good Luck.

Thanks .. no used regularly. The Fi light came on a few times over a couple of months but stopping and restarting turned it off.
There is a definite smell of burning oil with white smoke when it starts but that goes away when run.
I probably should have not ridden it when I got that but hoped it would clear up - it didn't of course it D'oh.

• Member Contributer
13 minutes ago, masterkush said: