I've Lost That Lovin' Feeling

SEBSPEED

I've been in denial for a while now, but I'm afraid I've lost my desire to ride.

It was probably about 5 years ago that I started noticing this, but I think I just found things to blame, like making time for my bike projects, or the carpal tunnel syndrome I've recently found partial resolution for, to keep me from realizing the truth.

I started riding about 20yrs ago. I can remember being really, really excited about getting a bike. Owning a bike. Riding the bike. That first week with my license!! Doing a trackday. Picking up a girl. Going to bed reliving a day's ride no matter how short, and waking up with key in hand and the scent of gasoline in my nostrils, ready to go again no matter where.

I don't have it anymore. I don't know why. I just don't have the urge anymore. It makes me sad. I think buying a brand new bike would be exciting, but as soon as I start thinking about "what would I buy if I had means to?", my mind immediately jumps to thoughts of having to do maintenance, cleaning, and basically I just get weighed down by all the downsides and it saps the fun out of it.

Maybe that's why it was fun earlier on? When I was still learning what complete ownership and responsibility entailed? I can't afford to pay for shop maintenance, that's why I do all my own work, and it's also how I learned so much about care, tuning, and maintenance. I took a good portion of those savings and rolled them into tools needed to do more work. Which turned into acquiring project bikes - bikes I could not afford to buy in turnkey condition, but knew I could fix.

Now I have a garage full of bikes and I can't figure out if I'm living a dream or a nightmare. So much work. I used to just go for a ride to get a quick escape. Take a day and get away. Today, I had my VFR sitting in my driveway all day with the key in it, ready to go, and I couldn't be bothered to take it out for a spin. I can't figure out exactly why.