How Low Can I Lean?

Hey y'all, I was riding my '98 vfr today on the way back from work (I started riding last year), and I'm trying to take these sweeping turns a little bit faster each time. like 35 -40 is my max at this point. And I know that if I feel i'm in too fast in the middle of the turn, I should just countersteer more.

The thing is, once I get past a certain piont with my body slightly off the side, the centrifegual force pushing me against the bike and the bike towards the outside of the turn feels pretty strong. In my stomach there's this feeling that's it's just gonna slip off the road and slide out into the bushes.

But that's just me not used to leaning right? In reality I'll probably scrape my pegs LOONG before the bike's traction loses the battle against the centrifugal force of the run right?

Thanks! :cool:

• Member Contributer

Good reading! in my opinion you need to get comfortable with the bike, I have realized that the bike knows what to do, if I give her gentle hints she knows how to make it happen. The only time I have issues is when I try to force things.....just go smooth and pay no attention to speed just ride what is comfortable and you will find yourself getting faster and faster without realizing it :unsure: Good luck and if you haven't taken a MSF class I would check into it!

I am a little north of you, shoot me a note and lets go for a ride :wheel:

Gary

• Member Contributer

You can crash the bike before hitting your pegs. You can ride a corner well past hitting your pegs, no one answer. All teqnique. Braking, lean angle, position. Leaning off the bike on the road had less to do with it then one may think. Just a leeding knee can really get the job done. Pilot the bike as opposed to thinking about how you are going to imposs your body position on the bike. Be one with the bike Danialson.

• Member Contributer

Hi Josh,