Gutted Stock Exhaust Too Loud

C4cycle

I recently picked up a 2002 VFR, exhaust was fully gutted by previous owner. I personally find it too loud and will at some point replace it with an aftermarket set of silencers. However, having just bought it (and subsequently tapping all available funds for the time being) I would simply like to reduce the DBs on the cheap. Any suggestions? Is there a simple baffle I can have welded? Stuff it with steel wool? I'm a little new to street bikes, not sure whats possible or how exactly to affect the change.

Cheers,

C4

It was a few years ago but I bought a stock exhaust for $75. They were going on ebay for about that price since many were buying aftermarket exhausts and the stock cans were going cheap. Post a want to buy ad in the classified here and check out ebay for a while to see if one shows up.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Honda-vfr-800-oem-exhaust-mufflers-/151320643111?pt=Motorcycles_Parts_Accessories&hash=item233b69c627&vxp=mtr

Here you go

I will take a pic when I finish work today, it has the end caps on, seems to be pretty empty in there tho.

As for making any purchases, I was hoping for a quick easy fix as I would just buy a Delkevic for $400 otherwise (unless something local came up in Vancouver).

Well, I had a better look. Looks like a hole saw was used (the cat is fine). End caps are in place, looking inside I can see small diameter pipes close to the larger outlets. I guess it is what it is. No easy fix. Pony up for replacement OEM (which are a bit too quiet fir my liking) or aftermarket. I was just hoping one stuff steel wool or some such in there as a tried method. I see thats not likely as it would just fry.

• Member Contributer

If you can pack it somehow but think steelwool will burn or blow out as capn stated glass packing holds up well. If you can get cheap oem's and just start with smaller holes drilled to get some sound back, just not as big as current.

WHAT!!? :)