Cornering, Lean Angle & Getting Off Your Bike

adamv

Hi,

I have conflicting information which has left me a little confused. My end question is about road riding (not race track) and should I be allowing the bike to lean further over on my bike and letting the tires do all the work, and staying as straight 'ontop' of my bike as I can (resulting in an increased bike angle), or should I be getting off the bike more and leaving the bike more upright, or somewhere inbetween? The reason I ask this is as follows:

Only having my VFR for a couple of months now, I'm aware that I'm very new to the road bike scene and have a lot to learn. One thing I've been enjoying thoroughly is getting the bike over in the corners. I was surprised to find my boot scraping against the ground. Not at fast break neck speeds - but on slower tighter corners. What exhilleration. (OK, I'm probably penguine toed a little bit - so it's probably not that far over. As an indication, their is still about 1cm of 'chicken strips' on the tires).

Some riders that are riding with me have commented the reason I'm leaning over so much is because I'm not 'getting off the bike' in the corners, and that I'm letting the bike & tires do all the work. That sounds fair, however they have suggested that I shouldn't let the bike get over as far and I should be getting off more instead - like 'race bike riders' do as it's the "better" way to ride on the road as well as the track.

I just finished reading an article about 'PACE' (http://micapeak.com/info/thepace.html) which includes a principle opposite to what my friends have said: " Don't hang off in the corners or tuck in on the straights".