Trackbike Build - From Scratch

MVinOZ

I have bought a 2002 VFR800. Big deal, you've probably all got them...

This is mine:

DSC_0231.jpg

I didn't take it apart, I have no experience with them & there are a few vital parts missing.

I am very good at Lego however :goofy:

(That, BTW, is the best smiley I've ever seen.)

Some googling tells me all those parts, plus the slightly important missing parts, add up to about 260kg :huh:

Something will need to be done about that. The bike will be a trackbike, so light weight is the name of the game, also low budget! Mostly low budget. Minimal engineering would be ideal, I don't have anything too advanced, nor could I really be bothered. Bolt on parts are good.

(What have people got these down too without carbon fibre washers & titanium lug nuts?)

The subframe has to go. Or go on a diet. The linked brakes need to go. PAIR needs to go, but I think that is sorted. SSSA should stay, despit being heavier than a regular swingarm (low cost remember). The front end needs to be replaced, Ideally with a USD R1/R6 front end, with Radially mounted Goldspot calipers & matching Radial M/C... :goofy:

Hehe... Where was I? Oh yes, budget will proabably dictate an F4i front end if I can find one cheap enough, or even a Thundercat front end... I will be looking for cheap parts at all time of course.

:offtopic: The (IIRC) 2001 master cylinder from the R1 is a cast Brembo unit, I run it on my TRX with the non-radial Goldspot calipers, from my research they should be functionally the same as the radial mounted version, same piston part numbers you see ;)

Ok, down to brass tacks: I am missing an ECU, rear wheel, exhaust headers & various other small bits & pieces, I intend to buy these as cheaply as possible as I go, starting with the most important, which I'd say would be the ECU, then headers. Ironically, I have found a cheap ($40) VTR1000 subframe which may work. The best laid plans hey... Or in this case barely thought out ones.