Considering 1985 Vf500 Interceptor With 43K Miles

Guest cogs

I hope this is the right place for this question. I am considering a 1985 VF500 on Craigslist for my second bike which looks to be in good condition (I'm actually going to test that theory tomorrow) but it seems like $1900 is a pretty high asking price for a 27 year old bike with 43k miles on it.

So I was wondering how many miles people tend to get out of these bikes, and what would be a fair counter-offer for a bike of this age and distance travelled (or if it's worth the effort at all)? The ad says the bike needs nothing, and that it was owned and maintained by a Motorcycle Safety Foundation RiderCoach, but even assuming that is true and it was well maintained, what could I expect from this bike?

A couple pictures for your perusal.

post-26438-0-40990900-1353691253.jpg

post-26438-0-51320500-1353691259.jpg

post-26438-0-20103200-1353691385.jpg

Thanks for any help!

I'm not an expert on the vf500f, but I have a vf750f and a vf1000f. the 750 has 24 000 miles and the 1000 has 40000 miles. you will have to do more maintenance but it is worth it. also the price is way to high. I bought my vf750f with half the miles for $1000, running. Definetly go check the bike out, but I wouldnt pay more than $1200 on it.