Understanding The R/r Inside And Out

Tightwad

21-120.jpg

OK, it has been bugging me for a long time that the Honda R/R has such hard times on our bikes...so I decided to see how they worked, and see if I could come up with another alternative. I am placing this topic here as it isn't really year specific, but is certainly Electrical...and maybe someone will get something out of it. I am not an Electrical Engineer, nor am I a professional. Any advise dispensed is purely theoretical and practical use, with no guarantees of any sort written or implied.

How the charging system works:

The Honda VFR (and most modern motorcycles) employs a 3-phase Permanent Magnet alternator. This means there is a magnet attached to the crank shaft, which rotates around the Stator and creates an electro magnetic field....basically the opposite of an electromagnet. The VFR Stator has 18 "stacks" around which magnetic wire is wound in a precise manner. The more windings the more voltage. The bigger the wire, the more amperage you get. The only limits are space, money, and horsepower.

See this link for understanding how to rewind a stator....yes you can do it if you want (not sure I would want to), the link is for a 2 phase, but the general principles are the same:

http://www.4strokes.com/tech/honda/brpstatr.asp

So then what? We now have an AC producing device, which isn't incredibly useful on a vehicle that uses DC power. We also have a device that is wound in such a way as to produce normal voltages of 65 VAC. Change this to DC and you still have 65 Volts (minus one or so for diode loss of course). Well, we need to change that current to DC current first...so we use diodes in a Bridge Rectifier. By using a diode, which only allows voltage to flow one direction, we can turn AC voltage to DC voltage.