New Yoshimura Vtec Exhaust!

SGVridgerunner

• Member Contributer

Scroll down near the bottom of page 1 for finished photos.

Being a former Yosh intern, I have some biased brand loyalty. Shortly after I purchased my VFR, I started pricing exhausts. Much to my dismay, Yosh does not make an exhaust for the VTEC. What a huge letdown. I searched to see if anyone has adapted a kit, but found nothing. So I started searching - and came across the TRS kit for the '04-'06 Yamaha R1. It's like these cans were made for our bike!

I found an almost new set on Ebay for sub $400, and just got them in. Check it out.

PIC_0042.jpg

VFRyosh5.jpg

VFRyosh4.jpg

PIC_0036.jpg

Now, all I need to do is build a midpipe to adapt it to the cat. I have some collectrs and u-bends from back in the day, but I'm looking for something cleaner.

PIC_0037.jpg

I know I saw an aftermarket kit for the VTEC that is a midpipe with a true dual outlet. I can't remember if it was Micron or Staintune, but that would definately be the easiest way to go. If anyone knows who makes this midpipe let me know. If I can get a sweet deal on these pipes, I might start making adapter kits for the Yoshes if anyone else wants them.

I'll post a sound clip when it's finished. I can't wait!!!

Hmm, why no take the factory exhaust and cut the midpipe off? Would probably be your cheapest route even if you bought a used set on ebay in case you didn't want to cut yours up. I think it would look good but you might need to shorten them some from the picture above, which is also dependant on which y-pipe you use. Looking forward to result!