Am I crazy? - 1985 VF 700F

MeLlamoYam

Hi everyone,

I'm new here, and I'm looking for some advice on restoring a 1985 Honda VF 700F. I found a couple of parts bikes for a good price, I'll likely be getting them this weekend and I'm planning to make one running bike and keep the other for parts. I have a friend with more mechanical experience than me who will be helping me, but I'm still relatively new to this. I have a friend who is brokering the deal, and I haven't actually laid eyes on the bikes themselves yet.

While the plan is to restore the bike, I know the first step is getting it running and making sure the cam shaft isn't eating the lifter. The restoration will likely not come this year, even if I can have a running bike by the end of the season.

I've done the valve adjustments on my 2022 RE Classic 350, but I've never really been IN an engine before. I'm wondering if this is a project that I'm over my head for.

I've attached photos of the bikes below. Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks,
Yam

P.S. I have photos of the VIN plates, but I'm not sure if it's bad form to post those? I can include them if someone can glean any sort of information from them.

342610337_932346157846571_9163998987873534165_n.jpg

342064101_1399552357535989_2332526536357768544_n.jpg

342009387_219230720809662_8882834039589100574_n.jpg

344202876_3373205702918121_2063225607978889360_n.jpg

344005565_762844445344993_735903099982811134_n.jpg

• Member Contributer

Typically, restoring 1st Gen Interceptors come from a love affair.  1st bike.  Bike in college.  Bike that got you into motorcycles.  Rode it to get spectacularly, repeatedly laid.

They are a challenge, even with a parts bike, but that certainly helps.  Not for the faint of heart and typically not worth it.  You are likely in over your head. 

mad-max.gif.07725541f0c7a0ebf1f6e946fa5ac921.gif

They are probably my least favorite VFR / Interceptor, and I own them all from 1983 to 1997.