New To Me 86 Vfr700

atx

I recently inherited my uncle's 86 VFR 700 and am getting to work putting it back on the road. He has had the bike for as long as i can remember, in fact it was one of my earliest memories of something mechanical really sticking with me. I've been working on cars as a hobby for close to 20 years, but swore i'd never get into bikes since my mom had been in a wreck years before i was born and had scars to prove it. Well since my mom isn't around to be terrified of me riding and my uncle passed that bike on to me i figure i'll give it a shot. I took my MSF class and have been learning on a friend's little crf230, and want to get this sweet old viffer back on the open road again.

This is the most recent pic i could find of it, still digging through family photos to see what is out there. This was at least 5 years ago, because the bike was put into his friend's shop awaiting work in 2010.

5ur1I2sh.jpg

This is how the bike looked when i picked it up last weekend:

4aQQhguh.jpg

nDFSbF3h.jpg

And in my home garage:

ZLfe3rch.jpg