NEWBIE WITH A QUESTION - KINDA URGENT

DrSteve

Looking at a very low mileage 2010 VFR 1200F.  Test rode it, loved the power, brakes, handling, etc.  The ergo's will be a problem for me though as at my age I need as much of an upright riding position as I can get without ruining the handling characteristics.

Here goes:

Risers and pull backs?     What do you recommend for the maximum available and where can I find them?

Peg lowering?                  What do you recommend for the lowest possible without risking lean angles?

Seat?                                The bike I am looking at has an OEM low seat.  Are used OEM standard height seats available or a more comfortable aftermarket touring you                                                           recommend for touring?

Windshield?                     Tallest windshield available?

I ride a BMW and Ducati now and have learned to navigate those forums but I'm new to Honda's, hence the basic questions.

Thanks for your help.

• Member Contributer

I don't own a 1200 - however AFAIK Convertibars have the largest range for adjustability both up and back.    To get the most out of them though may require a refit of hoses, wiring, etc. 

https://convertibars.3dcartstores.com/Honda_c_25-2.html

I'm 56 will be 57 next month I just bought a 2010 1200 with 650 miles on it. Stock seat heli bars. That's how I bought it. So far I lov the bike. I paid $6,500 for mine but it's like new.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

• Member Contributer

I think that highest bar height and pullback allowed without cutting plastics is from Speigler/LSL.

Peg lowering through Buell pegs (HispanicSlammer topic from 2010 OR 2011?) 

Personally, I had a seat made.  Factory seat wasn't bad for me, but cover tore, so re foamed when I had that redone. (See Yokels 2010 refresh thread for LSL and seat pics.)

Stock screen works for me, but many use a double bubble or fit factory laminar lip.

Hope you enjoy it!

• Member Contributer